"Very very bad service."

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

I rushed in to hospital around two weeks ago and as soon as I entered the doors I was appauled. I was screaming in pain yet I got told to "go to urgent care". I refused due to the fact that I had been there three days before and they were useless. After ten minutes of screaming in the minor area a very kind nursing auxiliary felt that I was in the wrong area and rushed me straight to majors. When I was admitted to a ward, finally, the nurses and doctors were so unprofessional and in sensitive. If it wasn't for the character count I would explain further. The point I feel is most important is that I was fully capable of telling the staff what they were doing wrong as I am 18 years of age and can speak and look after myself, however due to my illness I couldn't find the strength to say a word and was so distraught about the service that I cried almost the whole time I was there. This makes me question the service that people who can't look after themselves or speak for themselves receive. It seriously scares me. The NHS has changed over the years and certainly not in a good way. I understand that they're are a lot of patients with a higher priority than I was yet I believe that not one staff member who dealt with me actually enjoyed there job and quite frankly, with a job like a nurse/doctor you should do it properly or not at all. The nursing auxiliarys however, who get paid a significantly lower amount were the kindest. Looking forward to your reply. Charlie.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Hi Charlie, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very sorry that this was the experience you had at our hospitals. We have recently been working with the local Clinical Commissioning Groups to improve the A&E waiting times. Part of this review is to refer all walk-in A&E patients to the Urgent Care Centre to be assessed and triaged as appropriate. It appears that perhaps you were best suited to be treated in majors and we are glad our nursing auxiliary took this action. We would like the opportunity to pass your comments onto the A&E and ward managers to learn more about what your experience. You can either email further details to communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk for us to escalate on your behalf, or contact Patient Information and Liaison Service (PILS) team on 08081 788 337 or online at https://www.leicestershospitals.nhs.uk/patients/patient-welfare/patient-information-and-liaison-service/contact-form/ to make a formal complaint. Kind regards Communications Team Leicester's Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story