"Even though letters confirmed my appointment, I was told to go to another hospital."

About: Telford referral and quality service (TRAQS)

(as a service user),

After being contacted, I was offered a choice of whether to go to Shrewsbury or the Princess Royal Hospital. As the PRH is very close, and I am disabled, I chose the PRH.

I received a letter for an appointment at Shrewsbury, along with a connection letter (the same day) then a letter for the PRH confirming my appointment there.

When I arrived, letter in hand, I was told by a very tense woman that I should be at Shrewsbury, even though the letter from TRAQS and the letter from the PRH confirmed I should be seen at Princess Royal.

I now have to wait until September and try to make my way to Shrewsbury for an appointment there.

I am very disappointed with this service and level of care.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Cathie McKenzie, Patient Advisor, TRAQS, NHS Telford and Wrekin CCG

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback.

TRAQS would have contacted you and offered you the choice of hospital and then booked your appointment as per your preference. Part of the TRAQS process is that we also confirm via letter as to where your appointment has been booked, as I dont know the full story I am assuming that there were no appointments at the time you spoke to TRAQS and you were put on the waiting list for PRH, as requested.

There has obviously been some confusion at the hospital and I apologise for that.

If you would like me to look into this further, please do not hesitate to contact me.

kind regards,

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story