"Bad service ! Two long to be seen between treatments."

About: Tameside General Hospital / Cardiology

(as the patient),

I am under treatment, at Tameside hospital at cardiology outpatients. After having a heart attack last July and then had an angiogram and then had an heart stent fitted at Wythenshawe hospital after about a week! My problem is this! I never get to see the original consultant that I am under! Appointments are far too long between each other for 9 months till I see the next appointment with consultant! And that will be with one I have never met, so they dont know my case history!

Then three mths ago I told the cardiology nures that I have a constant sinking feeling in my chest, like falling over, And its got worse and worse! And she recommended me to have a 24 hour heart monitor fitted, then they would see what the results were! So I did this and heard nothing after that for three months. mean while my chest got worse! And guess what? when I returned to see another junior consultant that I don't know last week I ask for the result of the heart monitor! And he said that they had not got them back! Then he left the room, came back with a bit of paper and said that they were fine! But did not show them me!

That no true as I was told I have an heart arrhythmia by the nurse and Wythenshawe hospital! When I asked what they could do about it? He said oh nothing! I said that it is debilitating my everyday life! And I said that I want something done about it! He told me not to drink tea, coffee and cola, When I demanded something done about it! He got annoyed, And said oh well we can up the dose of your beta blockers! He was very quick to say I was, not a suitable candidate for a pace maker! I wasn't in there two minutes, And yet my appointment was at three pm, and I didn't get seen by the consultant till 4. 54pm He was very dismissive and not very helpful at all! I am not happy with the treatment I have received from Tameside hospital, with long waiting times before follow up appointments by months.

No consistency with consultants and doctors, lost results! Meanwhile my chest is getting worse! I am seriously thinking of paying a private cardiology consultant in London to see me! And getting a second opinion! As have no or very little confidence in the consultants at cardiology outpatients Tameside hospital. As my heart arrhythmia feels like its getting worse! And no one seems to be listening!

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from John Goodenough, Director of Nursing, Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you for sharing your experience of Tameside Hospital with me.

I am sorry that you have experienced delays in our services. Communicating with patients effectively is one of our top priorities and I am sorry you have felt this wasn't adequate. Can I ask you to contact the PALS department on 0161 922 4466 in order that your concerns can be investigated.

Kind regards

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

‘’Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved?

Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at John.Goodenough@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by correctus8 (the patient)

I still have no or little faith in Tameside hospital! I managed to get to see the consultant at Tameside! The second and only time I have met the consultant in nearly one year and a half year later of treatment! And I am not convinced in what I am being told He looked at my heart monitor trace and said there was a peek about 4am in the morning! And what was I doing at 4am in the morning to make this happen? I told him sleeping of course! I don't think he took that on board! I also find at Tameside that a lot of the doctors consultants I meet have a very poor grasp of English grammatics which means that they don't understand fully what you are telling them! I will be trying a heart monitor for a week, and we will see what happens with the results! I am still going for my second opinion as I don't feel tameside cardiology out patients is listening to my concerns!

Update posted by correctus8 (the patient)

I had my second opinion at wythenshaw hospital cardiology unit! And it couldn't of been more different.

Excellent service! Staff who listened. And knew how to use a heart monitor. A proper heart consultant who knew what he was talking about.

I was given a heart scan of which I was not ever offered at Tameside, in the two years of being treated for a Heart attack at Tameside. And we discovered that some of the heart medication that the tameside heart consultant put me on should of never been prescribed to me in the first place, which was not helping my heart arrhythmia. In fact making it worse!

I hope I never get rushed to tameside hospital again with a heart attack, as I have very little confidence in some of their staff.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story