"Superb staff on the ward, shame about elsewhere :("

About: Arrowe Park Hospital

Anything else?

I was admitted as an emergency admission and ended up staying for 10 days as an in-patient. All; the staff (domestics & medical staff) did everything they could to ensure that my enforced stay was as comfortable and worry-free as possible. Shame that this couldn't be said about the communications from other teams (notably the operating theatres) which led to two days of delays. All reasons were entirely understandable and reasonable - but if only someone had told the ward, so they could tell me! The reasons for the markdowns: Cleanliness - cleaners seemed under pressure to me (too much work, not enough time?). At least one day I know my floor was not swept as I could see the backing paper from a dressing on the floor under the bed. Staff co-operation : On this ward, no issues at all. The issues appeared to be lack of communication from other departments - I know one of my nursing team did complain about it as she felt it was unacceptable. Same-sex accommodation : Although mixed-sex, every bed had its own room (it is not an "Nightingale" ward). It was fine for me, although I can understand that some people might be slightly uncomforted by it, particularly as the ward caters for all ages as well (and so "wandering" may happen when the nurses aren't looking!).

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Arrowe Park Hospital

We are very sorry to hear about your experience at Arrowe Park Hospital. Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust is committed to the provision of high quality care for all patients, however we realise that there may be times when we do not always get things right. We will share your kind comment with the Emergency Department. However, if you would like for us to look into your concerns further, we will need personal details and more information about what happened. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, you can ring the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on freephone 0800 432 0251, email wih-tr.pals@nhs.net or in writing to PALS, Arrowe Park Hospital, Arrowe Park Road, Upton, Wirral, CH49 5PE. PALS can discuss the best way that we can address your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story