"Everything went wrong!"

About: Queen's Medical Centre

Anything else?

It all started off with stomach pains. I went to my doctors who then told me to go to the qmc c31 with suspected appendicitis. After waiting on there for 8hrs to be seen with out any fluids or medication for the pain I was told I needed surgery for inflamed appendicitis. I was sent down to surgery at 1.00am and back on c32 at 3.15am after keyhole surgery. The following day I had a major infection and was rushed to AITU and was put on a ventilator for distress. I was then taken down to theatre the next day for yet another laparotomy for a major infection for rupture appendix and perforated bowel and was then put back on a ventilator. I was on that for 6 days in AITU. I was then moved to e15 dazed and confused from morphine, my catherta was removed on the ward which meant I had to go to the toilet I was unsteady on my feet, that night I fell over from my bed. I remember waking up with lots of people round me asking if I was ok. and a pool of blood on the floor, i was lifted on my bed on a sheet and taken down for a x-ray put back on that ward , then I remember saying i am in pain I was then taken up to itu again at 8am where my partner was waiting for me I was then taken for a ct scan and remember crying in pain. my partner and sister was told by a surgeon I was bleeding internally and have been for 11 hours and had 20 minutes to be opened up and sorted out with a ruptured spleen . after 3 hours in theatre I was taken back to itu back on a ventilator for 5 more day. then went to high dependency for 2 days then on to e14 to recover and had physio to help me to walk again i have spent 5 days on there now i am going home cant walk too well and need a commode and someone always there to help me im on antibiotics for life and asprine to thin my blood after 3 transfusions from when I ruptured my spleen. all this just for a routine operations on appendix I have written a complaints letter to head of the hospital about this. i want just justice to be done for this its disgusting.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Nottingham University Hospitals Trust

Please might you contact me directly on 0115 969 1169 ext 76023 or via email at Alison.Cargill@nuh.nhs.uk so I can discuss your concerns in more detail.

Alison Cargill, Complaints Lead (acting)

Response from Queen's Medical Centre

Please might you contact me directly on 0115 969 1169 ext 76023 or via email at Alison.Cargill@nuh.nhs.uk so I can discuss your concerns in more detail. Alison Cargill, Complaints Lead (acting)

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story