"I went to A+E as I hurt my shoulder. ..."

About: St Thomas' Hospital (London)

(as the patient),

What I liked

I went to A+E as I hurt my shoulder. After taking a ticket, registering with the triage nurse and giving my details to the desk near triage I was told there would be a wait. I was left waiting for 5 hours without pain relief and no one asked me if I needed pain relief either. Eventually after waiting 5 hours I seen a doctor who checked my shoulder and said it was a muscular injury. He did not x-ray it he just put it in a sling and gave me painkillers and told me that if it still hurt in a week to go to my GP and he could arrange for a x-ray to be taken.

While I was there a woman was vommiting into a carrier bag which must have had a hole in it and as she went to put it in the bin it was leaking which a nurse saw and just told her to leave it on the floor which she done. There was some vomit on the floor for 4 hours before a cleaner came around and mopped the floor.

What could be improved

Cut waiting times, ask patients if they need pain relief, keep patients up to date with how much longer they are going to have to wait, staff could be more friendly and helpful, the area could me kept a lot cleaner as vomit or anything on the floor spreads germs and bacteria, also clean up blood left on the floor and their so called clean bedding, remove used needles which was on the floor behind my locker of a ward I was admitted to 4-5 years ago along with tablets and about 2 months of fluff and dust. When I told a member of staff about it the reply I had was clean it up then.

They could also reply to complaints that me and my husband put in writing to them.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from St Thomas' Hospital

A&E waiting areas can sometimes be uncomfortable for patients - both in terms of understanding what is happening in their case, and in terms of the environment. However, that does not mean anyone shold have to put up with the experience you had. Please accept our apologies.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful