"Experience with Gyanecology clinicn"

About: King George Hospital

Anything else?

I ma 32 year sold and I have Polycystic ovaries owing to which my GP had referred me to KG Gynae clinic saying they're the best one around. I saw them in June 2012 which was a very normal review and I was advised for a scan which I got done in August 2012 along with some blood tests requested before I see them next time around. The earliest appointment I got was for december 2012 (which was pretty late given the nature of the issue) my treatment depended on what they would have advised. I mentioned to them that I am thinking of planning a baby sometime soon. I get a letter sometime fromhopsital later during the year that appointment has been moved to July 2013 owing to XXXXXX (that I'm really not interested to hear). Its all about managing time and resources. I am scheduled to travel July this year and when I called clinic for a possible rescdule teh next date I have is Januray 2014..which would be moved to July 2014 if clinics don't manage themselves. So what is the doctor going to do , look at a 2 year old scans and blood tests. As much as i know they would want tests to be re-run and they'd probably see me when I have turned 40. I found it extremely un-planned and managed in the worst way. It's a shame the hospital can't cope up with it all . Regards

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from King George Hospital

I’m very sorry to hear about the delays in your appointments. We aim to see every patient within 18 weeks of their GP referral. Sometimes there can be delays in follow-up appointments or tests, due to appointment availability. However, I can understand that it would not be acceptable for you to have to wait such a long time to book a new appointment, especially given that the December 2012 appointment was moved by us rather than by you. Could you contact us through the PALS team on 01708 435454 or email PALS@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk and we will do our best to get you an earlier appointment that doesn’t coincide with your holiday and also check that your scan and blood tests don’t need to be repeated before then. Dorothy Hosein Chief Operating Officer

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story