"broken and dislocated arm ligament damage"

About: Rotherham Hospital

Anything else?

i broke my arm on thursday night playing football went by car to a+e rotherham was treated for the injury and keptin overnight my arm was placed in a full cast the next day the cast was removed and a sling put on then sent home with pain killers told to ring back on the following monday ref to operation on it to repair the damage i called on monday morning and have been told to ring back on tuesday to try and gt the break etc operated on i have been in agony since thursday although the pain killers did help a little i need to get this operation sorted to allow me to recover and get back to work to pay my taxes for this type of accident i would have thought i would get better service the country is in a downward decline

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Kerry Hollingworth, Corporate Affairs Officer, The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Dear dalton kershaw,

Thank you for taking the time to place your posting. We appreciate patient feedback and were most concerned to read your account of your experience.

I am sorry that your surgery couldn’t be undertaken on Monday, however if there are more patients requiring surgery than the theatre time available, medical staff have to prioritise which patients are the most urgent clinically. This is why you were asked to ring again on Tuesday and I apologise if this wasn’t explained to you and if your pain killers did not give you sufficient pain relief whilst you waited for surgery.

I understand that you have now had your surgery and I sincerely hope this went well and that you are recovering uneventfully.

With best wishes,

Kerry

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Rotherham Hospital

Dear dalton kershaw, thank you for taking the time to place your posting. We appreciate patient feedback and were most concerned to read your account of your experience. I am sorry that your surgery couldn’t be undertaken on the Monday, however if there are more patients requiring surgery than the theatre time available, medical staff have to prioritise which patients are the most urgent clinically. This is why you were asked to ring again on Tuesday and I apologise if this wasn’t explained to you and if your pain killers did not give you sufficient pain relief whilst you waited for surgery. I understand that you have now had your surgery and I sincerely hope this went well and that you recovered uneventfully. With best wishes, Kerry Please accept our sincere apologies for the significant delay in your receipt of our response. This response to your comment was published via the Patient Opinion website (www.patientopinion.org.uk) on 30/05/13. However, certain factors within the responses process have recently become known to us and subsequently highlighted that our response has not been received by you. Please be assured that the appropriate actions have been taken to ensure this does not happen again in future.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story