"My third visit to the QE"

Anything else?

My third visit to the QE in 12 months was very satisfying. The care and concern shown by the admission nurses was very, very nice as was the journey by chair that I had to take with a Porter. A very pleasant man and an interesting conversation. The anaesthetic room was my next port of call. The anaethetists, the nurses and the surgeons were all superb, their professionalism and concern in me, made me feel proud to live in Birmingham. The Recovery nurses as well as the ward staff led by the Ward Sister were a joy. I do not like going into Hospital, but if I have to, the QE would be where I would choose to go.

Well done the QE keep it up. The place was spotless and the food very acceptable. If I were to criticise in any way it would be the architects who would be at the receiving end of comments.

My bedroom was opposite the staff carpark, which was a joke, queueing for seemingly ages. Yet there is a piece of waste ground behind the bus shelter which would accomodate at least 20 cars. Whilst it is so nice to have so many green areas at a hospital, surely the staff well being and ease of car parking is of a greater priority. The staff gain the high ratings for your hospital, if they leave, because of difficulty parking, it would be self defeating.

Again, well done the QE and thank you for your care kindness consideration, shown to me, and above all the sheer professionalism from all the staff.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are very pleased that you had such a positive experience.

Your comments have been passed onto the senior staff responsible for the areas you visited and the staff members you have mentioned; they will ensure your feedback is shared with their teams.

It is a real morale boost for staff to receive feedback like this from patients. It means such a lot to know that the hard work, dedication and commitment of our staff is recognised and valued in this way. It is also very satisfying for staff to hear they have made such a difference to patients and made sure your experience under our care has been positive.

Your observations regarding the issue of staff parking were shared with the PFI Performance Manager who has provided the following information which hopefully you will find useful:

‘Car parking on the Queen Elizabeth Medical Centre (QEMC) is shared between the University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust (UHB), Birmingham Women’s NHS Foundation Trust and Birmingham and Solihull Mental Healthcare Trust. The parcel of land which you referenced belongs to Birmingham Women’s Trust and is used by them as a ‘late shift car park’ which opens at 11.00am in the morning for their staff who start work later in the day.

UHB has over 2,000 staff spaces on the QEMC site and closely monitors demand to ensure these are used effectively. In addition we continue to implement our Green Travel plan to encourage as many staff as possible to travel to work by bus, train or by bicycle to help reduce car park pressures.’

If you would like further information on services at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham or would like to discuss any thing in more detail please contact PALS by phone 0121 371 3280, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website http://www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form.htm or in person by dropping in between 9am – 4.30pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located to the left of the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

Updates, changes and questions related to this story