"Diassapointed in my after care. Staff were unhelpful"

About: Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust

(as the patient),

I had a left Hadfield operation and was due to have my stitches out a week later. I contacted the district nurses to arrange for them to come out on the Friday and I gave them plenty of notice.

I was told they would ring me and let me know a time. I waited all week and still never got a call, so on the Friday I rang them early in the morning and was told they could not find me on the system and then told again they would ring me.

I waited and waited and by the time 12 30 came I couldn't wait any longer as I had to go out. When I returned a little later there was a message for me to ring them, so I did again.

I waited they did ring back and I was told I should have been at the surgery at 4pm it was now 4 35. I explained that I hadn't been told this and was told well someone would come out the following day but couldn't give a time.

I explained I couldn't wait in again all day and could they come on the Monday they said they could not and told me to go to Katie road and get them taken out as they shouldn't be left.

I found them to be very unhelpful as if everything was to much trouble and an inconvience. Considering how much notice I had given them I think the service was very poor and I hope I never have to deal with them again. They did the same with my mother they left her three days before coming to see her when they were surpossed to come the following day.

I am very disapointed

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Alison Last, Associate Director of Patient Experience, Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust

Thank you for leaving feedback on the Patient Opinion website in 2013. I am sorry that your comments have not been responded to sooner. This is due to a technical difficulty, which has resulted in me not having seen your posting until now. Given the time that has elapsed since your experience of District Nursing Services it will be difficult to look into and respond; however your comments will be reviewed alongside more recent feedback to understand whether any of the issues you have raised are still of concern to patients.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story