"Great other than patient dignity and modesty not a..."

About: The Christie

Anything else?

I had a radical prostatectomy and the operation went very well. I was well prepared for all aspects of my stay.

I was disappointed male cancer has no male specialist nurse support and found the female staff were never able to fully understand or fully empathise with my situation or concerns. In fact, my concerns were often dismissed and I was left to feel that as a man I should be less concerned with my modesty and more concerned with being successfully treated. Although I was offered male clinicians for intimate care this often meant care was slow and delayed and I was made to feel like an awkward patient. The patient leaflets I received did advise the team try to respect the concerns of patients in relation to the gender of their doctor and other health professionals but 'try' does not translate into 'will'.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from The Christie

We are sorry that your experience was not as good as it could have been. It can be difficult to ensure that healthcare professionals are the same gender as the patients they care for, so we always ask if this is acceptable. We are disappointed to hear that you were made to feel that you were being awkward about it. We can only apologise for this and have shared your comments with the prostatectomy team.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story