"total hip replacement - 4 days on orthopaedic ward"

About: Colchester General Hospital

Anything else?

overall I was very happy with the care I received throughout my operation and stay in Colchester General Hospital.

The admission procedure helped to allay anxieties and staff gave me all the information I needed;

the procedure went well and the transfer from recovery to ward was calm and professional.

I was in a 6 bed ward. Cleanliness on the ward was good; at times the bathrooms were not as clean as might have been desired and bathrooms were not designed entirely with the needs of patients on crutches in minds eg the door opened next to the sink without proper clearance.

the ward was remarkably quiet and peaceful at night with staff responding to patient calls quietly and reasonably promptly.

ward staff and therapists were helpful in maximising my recovery and move towards rehabilitation - particular praise for the physio support on the ward.

the food was unexciting but adequate and nutritious with sufficient options.

staff kept water jugs well topped up.

I was kept informed throughout on my progress and medication (with the opportunity to decline medication if I wished eg options on painkillers)

Overall I was happy with my care and had intended to give very positive feedback.. However the discharge process was poor. I was told that I could be discharged at 9.30 am but it took until after 4pm to actually process the discharge. in this time I was given on information on proposed timing which made it very difficulty to plan for return to home.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Colchester General Hospital

I apologise you’ve not had a good patient experience.

We try really hard to improve our services based on the comments we receive from our patients, their relatives or carers.

We would like the opportunity to discuss your experiences more fully and to apologise in person. If you are willing I would appreciate it if I could ask the matron to contact you. Could you email me and tell me the ward you were on please?

Many thanks

Paul Searle, Head of Communications

Colchester Hospital University NHS Foundation Trust

info@colchesterhospital.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story