"cleanliness"

About: Calderdale Royal Hospital

Anything else?

My elderly grandmother came in to hospital this week. She was staying in a & e observations.

after visiting her we found a comb which belonged to somebody else under her bed which indicates that the floor hasnt been swept since the last person that was in there.

Also the food table which pulls over the bed had either vomit or food (which was dried so obviously been there a while) down the of the table where she would be eating her food.

This is absolutely discusting especially when you have signs up all over the hospital advertising how to prevent neurovirus. If she didnt come into hospital with a bug she will definitely be coming out with one!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Linda Thomas, Calderdale and Huddersfield NHS Foundation Trust

We are so sorry to hear of your grandmother's poor experience of our A & E Department at CRH. The issues you raise are clearly unacceptable. We would urge you to contact our Patient Advice and Complaints Service on 0800 013 0018 so that the issues can be investigated thoroughly. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Calderdale Royal Hospital

We are extremely sorry to hear of your grandmother's poor experience of our services. If you have not already done so, we would welcome the opportunity to follow up the issues you mention. In order to do this, could you please contact our Patient Advice and Complaints Service on 0800 013 0018, or email to Patient Advice@cht.nhs.uk.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story