"My broken ankle"

About: Dewsbury & District Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics Dewsbury Health Centre / Podiatry

(as the patient),

I injured my ankle in a fall. I left it a while before I called the GP. I called the GP surgery and spoke to the doctor, as I could stand on my foot the doctor didnt think it was broken and advised me to elevate my leg and rest it for a week and see if there is any improvement.

I then had a previously scheduled appointment at the podiatrist (I attend every three months) Deb did my usual treatment I receive their and in conversation I mentioned my ankle. Deb then decided to examine my ankle and said I should have an x-ray, I explained to her that my doctor had advised I didnt need one, but from the examination Deb said I had no flexibility in my ankle at all and an x-ray would be needed.

I then made an appointment with my G. P and was then referred to have an x-ray at the Hospital.

My x-ray showed that I had a broken ankle and it would take 8 weeks to repair, I think without Deb my G. P wouldnt have sent me.

While at the Hospital my experience was very positive I had a quick referal and did not have to wait long for my appointment at all I was very happy with the service.

As I had a pot on to help heel my ankle I had to return to Hospital again and during this they refered me to the Physio where I am undergoing therapy for my ankle. This service is also fantastic and I really couldn't praise the NHS more, I see what happened with my G. P as a slight oversight and I am not holding it against them I do not attend very often anyway but have found when I do my experience to be pleasant.

I would like to say a big thank you to all services I have used but mostly I would like to thank Deb she is so nice and helpful, and really does go the extra mile. Thank you Deb non of this could have took place if it wasnt for your inital examination and your advice on the next steps to take.

THANK YOU

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Gemma Fowler, Integrated Governance Clinical Manager, Locala Community Partnerships

Hi Sheer 191

Thanks for leaving this feedback on Patient Opinion. You mention a variety of services in your posting and it's great to see that you have been happy with all the NHS care provided. With regards to Locala podiatry, I have passed on your feedback to Debs' manager and to our communications lead so that Deb and her efforts can be recognised in our Locala newsletter; so your comments about Deb will appear in there too.

Thank you again

Gemma

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story