"Husband's treatment before he died."

About: Russells Hall Hospital

Anything else?

My husband was admitted to AEU on the 14.2.13, and discharged on the 15.2.13, saying they couldn't find anything wrong with him. He was admitted again five days later where he was diagnosed with liver cancer and we were told he was dying. At the same time we were old he had to vacate the bed, as beds were needed. This is a British citizen, with 44 years NI stamps to his name, he had in effect paid for the right to that bed. We understand no medical treatment would save him, but to be told he could not remain in the bed was like a kick in the teeth. I made he decision he would choose where he died, no one else. His treatment while in was dire, detoxing alocoloc's are not the best fellow patients to share a ward with the dying.

My husband chose Mary Steven's Hospice to die and there he had the care, love and attention he deserves. The staff were dressed smartly, clean and respectful, more than I could say for this hospital. Most were volunteers and that says a lot. In all Russall's Hall was not fit for purpose and the ward C7 needs looking into for real care of such patients and attitudes to the dying and their familiy need urgent attention. I've made my complaints to the Secretary of State as I kept a dariy of my husbands time in there, as a retired nurse I was very concerned at what I saw. HCA more interested in watching TV than looking after patients needs. The TV blasting away 18 hours per day was like torture to those who had to endure it. As for detroxing alcololics who encroached upon our time while visiting, and smelt awful, I'll leave that to imagination. In all a horrible time and its made me angry and resentful we have come down to this.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from The Dudley Group NHS Foundation Trust

Thank you, Barbara, for taking the trouble to post your feedback about your husband’s care. As you know we are in the process of investigating the issues you have raised through our formal complaints procedure. Under these circumstances, we do not feel it would be appropriate to comment further on this website but you will be hearing from us directly as advised in your acknowledgement letter.

Response from Russells Hall Hospital

Thank you, Barbara, for taking the trouble to post your feedback about your husband’s care. As you know we are in the process of investigating the issues you have raised through our formal complaints procedure. Under these circumstances, we do not feel it would be appropriate to comment further on this website but you will be hearing from us directly as advised in your acknowledgement letter.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story