"Can't cancel an appointment!!"

About: Rotherham Hospital

Anything else?

Rang to try to cancel my appointment for 4th April 2013 at 11.20am - GYNAE Coloscopy. was on hold for over 5 inutes. rang back redeption couldn't help put through to a woman who asked who I was seeing I was then transferred and was on hold for over 5 minutes - gave up.

I won't be attending the appointment - please advise the department

How many no shows are due to not being able to cancel!!!!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Grace Oldfield, patient involvement manager, communications and involvement, Rotherham General nhs foundation trust

Dear Anonymous, thank you for taking the time to place your posting. Please accept my sincere apologies for the your delay as it is absolutely unacceptable for you to be left on hold for so long on more than one occasion. I’m not sure from your posting which telephone number you were given to contact, but assume this was to the contact centre and I have asked the Manager there to investigate your concerns.

I have also contacted the Nurse Consultant for Colposcopy with regard to you trying to cancel your appointment. Whilst you cancelled your appointment for early April if you would like a further appointment, I would be most grateful if you would take a little more of your time to contact our Patient Services department at complaints@rothgen.nhs.uk or telephone 01709 424461, and we will arrange for our Nurse Consultant to contact you directly with regard to arranging a further appointment should this be required.

Again please accept my most sincere apologies for your experience.

With best wishes,

Grace

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Rotherham Hospital

Dear Anonymous, thank you for taking the time to place your posting. Please accept my sincere apologies for the your delay as it is absolutely unacceptable for you to be left on hold for so long on more than one occasion. I’m not sure from your posting which telephone number you were given to contact, but assume this was to the contact centre and I asked the Manager there to investigate your concerns. I also contacted the Nurse Consultant for Colposcopy with regard to you trying to cancel your appointment. I hope that this was resolved for you, however if you would like to discuss your experience further, please contact our Patient Experience Lead, Sarah Taylor on 01709 426639, who would be happy discuss any concerns with you. Again please accept my most sincere apologies for your experience. With best wishes. Please accept our sincere apologies for the significant delay in your receipt of our response. This response to your comment was published via the Patient Opinion website (www.patientopinion.org.uk) on 22/04/2013. However, certain factors within the responses process have recently become known to us and subsequently highlighted that our response has not been received by you. Please be assured that the appropriate actions have been taken to ensure this does not happen again in future.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful