"Fantastic Staff - A credit to their profession"

Anything else?

I was taken to the A&E department at around 4:30pm on 9th February. At the time all we knew was that I was suffering an ankle dislocation. The staff took me quickly into a room, sedated me appropriately and realised that they needed to act quickly to ensure blood flow and reduce the chances of nerve damage.

They resolved this problem swiftly and then informed me that I had also a double leg fracture so they had plastered the leg to immobilise .

I was taken to a ward and I was looked after above and beyond. The nurses and auxiliary staff were always on hand and helped me without any issue.

The Dr's and Surgeons explained the injury and planned operation along with the recovery time and rehabilitation.

The Anesthetists listened to my concerns over the operation and put me at ease.

The ward team were fantastic post op and continued to help me from pain relief drugs in the middle of the night to ordering a warm meal when I had missed the menu rotation.

The physio team did everything they needed to do to help me in my recovery prior to leaving hospital

The only issue (to date) throughout my experience was the Discharge team. They were unhelpful, rude and dis-organised. I waited over 3 hours for my drugs to be collected and for me to be allowed to leave. Really bad!

On return to the hospital for the cast to be changed the team in the plaster room were fantastic. They also noted that the angle the cast was set at was not the best for my recovery so they invited me back a week later to force/encourage the ankle to be set at a better angle.

Tomorrow (I hope) my cast should be removed.

I have nothing but praise and thanks for the team at Princess Royal University Hospital. All the other negatives that I have heard and read about are just not anywhere close to my experiences.

We should all value the NHS and the staff there in. Try living in a third world country (which I have) and then rate our NHS. You would not rate them under 10/10 even if you have to wait a little while or your treatment is not perfect in your mind. We are Soooo lucky to have a first class service.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››