"No Compassion, no one cares"

About: Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

My daughter is currently in hospital, one of many admissions over the last 3 or so years. Every time time she is admitted we have the same, reaccuring problems with the staff at the hospital. No one listens to her. She is 18 years old and has been ill for some time, she knows what works and what doesnt. But no one takes a blind bit of notice of her. we are sick to the back teeth of hearin ' we do have sick patients on this ward you know' ! really, heres me thinking she was one of them. Nurses changing administration of meds as they see fit, totally against what the consultant has ordered. when asked why, there is never an adequate explanantion. When we do ask questions, they promtly move her to another ward 'we need that bed for a sick patient' !

Caring has plainly gone out of the NHS. I know they are under staffed, we get reminded every day, however, is it to difficult to just listen to someone, or even try and think what they are going through? Obviously, it is. What is the point of seeing a consultant if they are just going to ignore him as well?

Why does it take 12 hours to change a saline drip? After being told she must stay on fluids and get rest, they decide to wait from 2 in the afternoon, and change it at 3 AM?

Nurses plainly lieing to us on the phone, ' She is sleeping at the moment...' 5 seconds after i had just spoken to her and she had pressed her buzzer for pain relief? Lies and more Lies. Treated like we know nothing, frustration isnt the word.

I must say, there are some staff who seem to like there job and show some compassion and understanding, but these seem to be few and far between.

Told that a Doctor is coming to see her today,...nurse just told us that no doctor is coming to see her today.......make your minds up, this is someone who is going through a very stressful period in her life, and you are making the stress unbearable at times. No answers to questions, lies, lack of communication between doctors and nursing staff.

One unit and one ward and now going somewhere else......no doubt it will change again shortly

We know she is a difficult case, but some of the treatment she has/is recieving is easily rectified. This would reduce the stress levels and aid in recovery. Some of the staff try their best, some of the doctors seem to helping....but some are letting the side down massivily with their rudeness, lies and arrogance.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Emer Scott, Director of Communications, Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Please accept my sincere apologies for not posting a response to your message on here sooner. The Matron responsible for this area did, however, raise this with staff on all her wards and also at the ward managers' meeting and the department's clinical governance meeting, where they discuss a range of subjects including patient care.

We are really sorry that you have not been kept informed in the way you would have wished and if you have received conflicting responses or information. Clearly, that shouldn't happen and you absolutely should be kept properly informed.

If you would like to speak to Matron Rosie Mews in confidence about these or any other issues, she would be happy to hear from you. You can contact her on 01302 366666 x4284 or rosemary.mews@dbh.nhs.uk.

You mention that your daughter is a regular patient. I hope that on her next admission you both feel you have a much better experience of care but please do alert the ward manager and/or Matron if you have any concerns, as they are always keen to resolve any issues in the care being provided.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Doncaster Royal Infirmary

Please accept my sincere apologies for not posting a response to your message on here sooner. The Matron responsible for this area did, however, raise this with staff on all her wards and also at the ward managers' meeting and the department's clinical governance meeting, where they discuss a range of subjects including patient care. We are really sorry that you have not been kept informed in the way you would have wished and if you have received conflicting responses or information. Clearly, that shouldn't happen and you absolutely should be kept properly informed. If you would like to speak to Matron Rosie Mews in confidence about these or any other issues, she would be happy to hear from you. You can contact her on 01302 366666 x4284 or rosemary.mews@dbh.nhs.uk. You mention that your daughter is a regular patient. I hope that on her next admission you both feel you have a much better experience of care but please do alert the ward manager and/or Matron if you have any concerns, as they are always keen to resolve any issues in the care being provided.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful