"Swan Ward - what a team!"

About: St Peter's Hospital (Chertsey)

Anything else?

I spent 4 nights on Swan Ward after being brought back to the UK following a skiing accident in France. From the moment I was admitted onto the ward until my discharge on Sunday I was overwhelmed by the kindness, efficiency and care demonstrated by all the staff to me and the other patients 24 hours a day. . This applies to all staff from Junior Doctors, all nursing staff, cleaning and support staff, occupational and physio therapists. The ward had a strong 'team' feeling around it and without a doubt, the reassurance care and support had a definite impact on my feeling confident enough to be discharged in order to 'recover at home. I don't know if this ward is run in the same way as others, if not it should be used as a benchmark for how to care for patients. My only complaint was the lack of empathy and 'bedside manner' displayed by orthopaedic surgeons-they would benefit from a lesson in communication

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from St Peter's Hospital

Thank you for your lovely comments about the team on Swan Ward, which we will pass onto the different groups of staff you mention. We are sorry that you didn't feel as positive about the bedside manner of some of our surgeons and we will make sure this feedback is also passed on. We would welcome the opportunity to meet with you and discuss some of the communication issues you mention in more detail. If you would be willing to do so, please contact our PALS service on 01932 723553. Many thanks.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful