"Coltishall Ward"

About: Norfolk & Norwich University Hospital

Anything else?

My wife had a serious middle ear operation on 19th Dec 2012 and after a 5 hour operation was placed in Coltishall Ward. I phoned up at 8 am to check,on her and a voice said "what you want!". She then went and got someone else who asked me again "what you want"! I explained I was asking about my wife to which she said "no problem, you can come and get her this morning". I arrived in Coltishall and got a brusque answer when asked were my wife was and the staff member pointed to her left and mumbled " in there". Very little eye contact during this meeting. I went "in there" and found my who,looked about ninety plus sprawled in a chair with no dressing on her head, blood issuing from ear and operation scar behind ear and her bedding had blood all,over sheets and pillow. She was hardly coherent and I had to almost carry her to the car with no offer of help from anyone. My wife said that she needed the loo desperatly in the night and some staff member came over and said.." its over there"! She somehow got to the loo but then became poorly and could not stand up. She pressed fhe panic alarm and noone came for ten minutes and when they did come they said to her "Whats the matter now", They then went and got a chair and wheeld her to her bed, did not help her up at all and left her sitting on the side of ghr bed confused and in great pain.She was very poorly for Christmas and on boxing day early I took her to A & E wher a stroppy member of staff said I could not go up to Coltishall ward but had to wait in A&E until called. Two hours later a doctor appeared and said I he would get a porter and take my wife up to Coltishall ward. When we got to the ward the porter said where to do want this patient and the person behind the desk said...again without any eye contact..."put her in the day room". Eventually a friendly face from ENT arrived and attended my wife. I felt so angry about my wife's treatment that I complained officially. Unfortunately my wife would not sign the form as she felt she would be victimised in the future. I must add that the consultant and his staff in ENT were excellent and we have no problem whatsoever with. It's just Coltishall ward let the side down very badly.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Norfolk & Norwich University Hospital

The issues you have raised are very important and will be passed to the Matron for Coltishall Ward. We always encourage patients to come forward if their experience of hospital care is poor and we would encourage you to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on pals@nnuh.nhs.uk