"Disappointed by care for my painful wrist"

About: Raigmore Hospital / Trauma & orthopaedics

(as the patient),

I developed a problem with my wrist in February 2012.

I waited 3 months to be seen by a consultant at Raigmore and it was quite the experience! He had told me he was a hand specialist (I do recall asking this) and sent me for an xray which apparently showed nothing. An MRI was ordered which I waited another 3 months for. After that I must have waited 2/3months again to see the consultant, whose receptionist told me over the phone that there was nothing obvious on the MRI result so they 'probably won't be doing anything further'.

I went to see the consultant for him to try and tell me that undiagnosed pain in the wrist is common in 'people like me, young women' and he didn't see much use in doing any more tests despite me being in pain everyday. He then told me he was going to speak to the hand specialist about it - despite telling me previously he was a hand specialist. He decided that the best option would be for me to see another consultant. Thank goodness!

In December, 10 months after the problem started, I finally got to see another consultant who told me straight away that the bone in my arm is slightly too long and could be the be part of the reason for the pain - why the first consultant couldn't see this I do not know. Thankfully this consultant managed to arrange a bone scan for me in less than a month.

On return to Raigmore to discuss the results I sat in the waiting room to listen to my old consultant bragging to his reception staff about finishing his clinic by noon! I was utterly disgraced by this! Perhaps showing some standard of care towards patients is far more important than what time he finishes at.

Ironic that I was sitting there many months after him not being able to diagnose a thing wrong with me - maybe if he wasn't so concerned by time I may have progressed with some treatment.

The problem is still undiagnosed but nothing surprises me any more, especially with such long waiting times between appointments. For the last year it has felt like there has been little care with regards to my lifestyle. Being told to live with agonising pain on a daily basis is not practical.

At one point I was given extremely strong painkillers which I was later informed by a GP were for 'large obese men' - to put it into context! Extremely disappointing to say the least.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Maimie Thompson, Head of Public Relations and Engagement, Chief Executive's Office, NHS Highland

picture of Maimie Thompson

Dear Pr0spect30

Thank you very much for taking the time to feed back yesterday about your recent experience of care. I am really sorry that you have been in pain and also that your experience of care has not been good for you. So can I first apologise about about how things were for you yesterday. We want to deliver really good care and really good experience of care and when we don't we need to understand why. Which is why feed-back is really important. But crucially we need to do something with the feed-back to make improvements.

In terms of your posting, I have shared your feed-back with the Head of Service for Orthopaedics (that is the lead orthopaedic surgeon for NHS Highland), the manager for the service and the senior charge nurse for the orthopaedic department. And I have asked them to share your feelings on the care they provided with colleagues and to reflect. Then to come back to me so I can respond in a bit more detail.

I hope this is OK with you. If you would like to speak to me personally or provide me with any more detail then please do. My phone number is 01463 704722 or you can email me at maimie.thompson@nhs.net

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Maimie Thompson, Head of Public Relations and Engagement, Chief Executive's Office, NHS Highland

picture of Maimie Thompson

Dear Pr0spect30

I just wanted to let you know that we are still looking into this. The reason for the delay is that the Head of Service is on Annual Leave and I am waiting for his feed-back. I did speak with one of the Orthopaedic Consultants today (we have 11) and he was aware that the Head of Service is looking into this. As soon as I know more I will post an update. In the meantime if you want to get in touch with me please do not hesitate to get back to me.

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story