"Ward5. And Vascular team at Pilgrim"

About: Pilgrim Hospital

Anything else?

WARD 5b

Well what is there to say about this ward that is good? Well I can tell you not a lot at all, especially at night.

Women were screaming in pain and shouting for help for hours before any member of staff arrived. One staff member even turned up in the bay with a night shirt on and hair hung all over, it was obvious she had been sleeping herself.

I was laid on the bed bleeding heavy from where the drain had been took out on my neck from having Carotid Endarterectomy, as they had not stopped the bleed properly, only when my daughter went to get someone did I get sorted.

Cleaners only did what they thought needed cleaning, I felt like saying give me the trolley, I could do better in a flash, the place is disgusting to be honest.

I would never go back there again for any time of treatment, and I certainly wouldn't recommend the hospital to anyone.

Lets see how long it takes the hospital to respond to this review!

They don't seem to respond to any what I can see, says it all for the hospital doesn't it.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Jennie Negus, Deputy Director of Patient Services, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

picture of Jennie Negus

I was very sorry to read your feedback about your stay on Ward 5B and have discussed with the nursing team who were also really disappointed.

I can assure you that staff do not sleep when on duty and certainly would not be dressed in anything except their uniform; perhaps it was another patient you saw or maybe a member of the theatre team with their scrubs on which can look a little like pyjama’s? One of our junior sisters recalls removing your drain and that it did bleed heavily and that she did care for this and even called the surgeon for further advice; I am sorry that you felt the care of this was poor.

I am sorry too that you were not happy with the standards of cleaning; our audit results and standards for Ward 5B are good and it may be that as different domestics undertake different specific tasks it can look as if they are not addressing all the areas which is a fair point. Finally I am sorry you were distressed by the lady who was calling out at night; unfortunately she was hallucinating and it was difficult to settle her; I appreciate that must have been terrible to listen to and I am very sorry.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback; hearing from our patients about their experiences (be they good or bad) is extremely valuable and we share this feedback with teams and services to enable them to focus on weaknesses and build on what is working well.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Pilgrim Hospital

I was very sorry to read your feedback about your stay on Ward 5B and have discussed with the nursing team who were also really disappointed.

I can assure you that staff do not sleep when on duty and certainly would not be dressed in anything except their uniform; perhaps it was another patient you saw or maybe a member of the theatre team with their scrubs on which can look a little like pyjama’s? One of our junior sisters recalls removing your drain and that it did bleed heavily and that she did care for this and even called the surgeon for further advice; I am sorry that you felt the care of this was poor. I am sorry too that you were not happy with the standards of cleaning; our audit results and standards for Ward 5B are good and it may be that as different domestics undertake different specific tasks it can look as if they are not addressing all the areas which is a fair point. Finally I am sorry you were distressed by the lady who was calling out at night; unfortunately she was hallucinating and it was difficult to settle her; I appreciate that must have been terrible to listen to and I am very sorry.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback; hearing from our patients about their experiences (be they good or bad) is extremely valuable and we share this feedback with teams and services to enable them to focus on weaknesses and build on what is working well.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful