"ENT"

About: Southport & Formby District General Hospital

Anything else?

After suffering for years with ear problems, I was referred to Southport and Formby ENT department. On first visit I was offered a hearing test etc. I was then taken to a room to discuss the test results. I was told that although I had lost hearing, it was nothing serious and probably an allergy. I was given antihistamines (which I had already tried several of) and told to go.

After this did not relieve my problem, I went back and I was given a nasal examination, without any pain relief or explanation / warning, which I later found out it is routine to receive local anaesthetic for the procedure. Again, told probably an allergy, carry on with previous medication.

3rd visit I was finally offered an allergy test, all of which turned out to be negative and advised I would be offered a sinus scan.

However, when I returned to my 4th visit, the person I spoke to had no recording of my allergy tests or hearing test or that I was there for a sinus scan, although it was the same lady I had seen all previous times. I had to tell her what the outcome was and although my allergy test was negative I was told, again, it was probably an allergy. When I asked what it could be I was told it would be hard to tell and that it would probably go away on its own, even though I had been suffering for years. I was then discharged with a "new" antihistamine, and it was the exact same medicine.

Final visit, I arrived and I was told "you're here for your surgery". although I had not been tol anything about a surgery, and I was told to sit in a chair and lean back. I stopped the lady and asked her to explain. She was going to perform nasal turbine reduction surgery, although this needed to be performed under general anaesthetic.

After denying the surgery, I was asked if I could be making a big deal out of nothing and "is it maybe all in your head" which I found to be very condescending. I replied with no and asked to be discharged.

In all this time I did not see one doctor, only what appeared to be nurses and office staff.

I would make a complaint but I feel it would be pointless.

I have since been to specsavers (!) for a hearing test and they have referred me to a ENT specialist elsewhere. I have been advised that I will need an operation on my ears.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Southport & Formby District General Hospital

We were sorry to hear that your treatment was not to our usual high standard. We can assure you, however, that we take all complaints very seriously. Please contact our Customer Care team on 01704 704958 or email soh-tr.pals@nhs.net so we can make a full investigation.