"Mixed bag"

About: St Mary's Hospital (London)

Anything else?

I was brought here with multiple injuries. Initially treatment was good, however after I was referred to Western Eye Hospital I was told transport would take "all day" so was advised to get someone to give me a lift there. Worryingly they couldn''t give me either directions or even an address to the other hospital although I was reassured it was walkable (sigh). At this point I was effectively blind because I was having periods of extreme eye pain that forced both eyes closed. They also told me to go to a department in another hospital for one of my injuries and that I had been referred. This turned out not to be the case and I ended up travelling pushing on 100 miles round London being bounced from one place to another. No consideration was given to my ability to absorb the information given to me (I had a head injury and was temporarily blind) and much of the information proved to be incorrect. I pity someone who is more frail and who does not have a family member free to drive them round all day. Oh and I was offered some food (which was digusting) and water but no-one checked whether I was capable of eating it or even reaching and pouring myself a drink... I just about managed to do this but again I pity those who are in a worse condition than I was. The problem is that 20% of the staff do their jobs competently and the rest have a selection of problems e.g. rudeness, contemptuousness, disdain, laziness, inability to speak English or just simple lack of intelligence.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from St Mary's Hospital

Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust is concerned to read of your experience following your attendance at St Mary's Hospital. It would be important to be able to understand what happened to you and to investigate the significant issues that you have reported. This is not the experience that we aim to provide.

Please contact the PALS service pals@imperial.nhs.uk to enable us to progress this. The PALS Manager will be happy to call you if you provide your contact details.

We look forward to hearing from you and apologise for the distressing experience that you have reported.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful