"Monday antenatal clinic/maternity diabetes clinic"

About: Frimley Park Hospital (Frimley)

Anything else?

I have attended this clinic twice and my review is poor for both. It runs for a short period in the afternoon despite the majority of women having young children they cant take (they are not allowed in scans). Both occasions I have had a three o'clock appointment and not left until after 5.30pm due to shambolic organisation. In general I had to see one person to be weighed. Wait. One person to have my BP. Wait. Speak to midwife - who generally seemed uninterested in my answers to her questions. Wait. Had scan. Wait.. Have blood test. Wait again. see consultant. I was with the consultant less than 5 mins and she had not even read my notes and was still looking at scan result. The clinic is shambolic, badly organised and under staffed. very poor and has put me off attending more appointments or even giving birth at frimley.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Frimley Park Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are constantly looking to improve services and it is always very useful to us.

The clinic you describe involves teams from different medical disciplines, which can make it more challenging to organise in a timely way. We ask patients not to bring their children if possible as our sonographers need to be able to concentrate on their patients as much as possible during the scanning process in order to provide safe and accurate results.

However I am very sorry that you thought the clinic was disorganised and that you did not feel that you had a good experience.

I would very much welcome the opportunity to talk directly with you, if you felt able to do this. It would be very helpful for me to hear more details from you and they may help us to provide a better service in future. I also hope that the experience has not unduly undermined your confidence in our services. Please call me on 01276 604210, or email adrienne.price@fph-tr.nhs.uk.

Adrienne Price

Head of Midwifery services

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful