"Opthalmology Outpatients"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

In my experience over a three year period his service is poor, with huge waiting times, surly staff and an overloaded waiting area full of deeply unhappy patients.It is the worst otpthalmology Depertment that I have visited in the NHS, and I have never had my visit take less than 2.5 hours

I complained, only to be told by the PILS Office that this was 'norma'l. I have since chosen and booked with my GP's approval to the outpatients service in Northampton General.

What a change - Three appointments; met by the consultant each time, who explained what he was doing; cheery staff who actually seemed pleased to see me, and very helpful, and all visits done and dusted inside 1 hour (including laser treatment. This is what the NHS should be about.

Avoid the LRI Opthalmology Department like the plague my own experience shows it to be a very poor and unedifying experience with,,arrogant staff simply ineficient patient handling sytems that guarantee huge waiting times

Speak to your GP about choosing and booking a different hospital - you will not regret it

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

I would like to reassure you that what you were told as being 'normal' is not. We do take this type of complaint very seriously.

We are sorry that you have had an unpleasant experience, however many patients in some eye sub-specialties require dilation of the eyes and often investigations. This can mean that patients are in the department for two to three hours. This is advised in appointment letters and leaflets if this is a requirement due to the eye condition.

The redesign of our nursing teams in November 2012 has increased the trained nursing presence in the clinic areas and is showing an improvement in clinic flow. The redesign of the ophthalmology assistants in the diagnostic area is due to commence over the next 2-3 months which will also improve the flow of patients through clinic.

The ophthalmology team are working to improve the availability of appointments and in some cases are able to offer evening appointments.

If you would like to discuss your concerns further then please contact me at the Trust.

Sue Sutton, Service Manager for Ophthalmology, 0116 258 5929

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful