"Meanwood Health Centre"

About: Specialist services / Musculoskeletal and rehabilitation service

(as the patient),

I went to Meanwood Health Centre see the physio at MSK (Musculo-Skeletal), Steve Foster. He was incredible at his job and really made me feel at ease and as if I was in the hands of a real professional.

I would just like to complain about one of the receptionists at the GP desk. She was one of the rudest people I have ever met. I saw her not only treat me with disrespect but also a woman who was at least 80, as well as at least 3 other patients.

She sat talking about her tea the night before and ignored patients who were stood at the desk. She spoke loudly about personal details and asked unnecessary questions which could have cause huge embarrassment. In my opinion, she was highly unprofessional and not a good receptionist.

I don't normally complain about anything but this woman was beyond rude.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from clare wyke, Patient Experience Team, Leeds Community Healthcare NHS Trust

Dear Leedsuser92,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on the service you received recently. I'd like to respond to the two elements of your post separately.

The poor experience you had of the service provided by the GP surgery.

I am sorry that you had a poor experience whilst attending the GP surgery at Meanwood Health Centre. In order to look into you concerns I have spoken with the Patient Engagement and Experience Team at the Primary Care Trust called NHS Airedale, Bradford and Leeds (NHS ABL).

NHS ABL is the organisation that currently commissions GP services. They will liaise with Meanwood Health Centre GP Surgery to investigate your concerns. NHS ABL will post a fuller response to you once the investigation is completed.

The positive experience of the MSK service.

MSK services are provided by Leeds Community Healthcare NHS Trust so I am able to respond directly to this element. I am pleased that our member of staff was able to put you at ease and that this enabled you to feel confident in his abilities and professionalism.

I have forwarded your positive feedback to the staff member and the service manager. I will also raise it our monthly patient experience group where experience information is shared to ensure learning across our organisation.

If I can be of any further assistance please feel free to contact me directly on our Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS) phone line: 0113 2208585. Alternatively you can email me at lch.pals@nhs.net

Kind regards


  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Leeds PCT

Message from the Practice Manager at Meanwood Health Centre

Dear Leedsuser92

I was very sorry to hear about the poor experience you received from one of our receptionists in the GP surgery. We hold regular significant event meetings in the practice and I will be raising the experience you had at the meeting.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on the site.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful