"Disappointed with physiotherapy clinic"

About: Gilbert Bain Hospital / Physiotherapy

(as the patient),

A physiotherapist tells me the x-ray I had on my ankle is ok so that is good. I say that a Doctor had told me that my ankle is swollen. The reply: I don't know I have not examined it.

The physio did not examine my ankle to see what restricted movement there was, my socks were still on and they just printed off a sheet of paper from a pc for me to do some exercises.

If I had known that was all I was going to get treatment wise I would have looked up the internet myself and saved myself a six week wait for nothing.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Carolyn Hand, Corporate Services Manager/Complaints Officer, Chief Executive's Department, NHS Shetland

I would be grateful if you would contact me in order that I can investigate your concerns.

Fiona Smith, Head of Physiotherapy tel: 01595 743323

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Update posted by I am Trouble (the patient)

No need to contact you, I have had treatment from a Private Clinic in Aberdeen. My ankle is much better, worth every pound that I spent. I won't be returning to your Clinic.

Response from Carolyn Hand, Corporate Services Manager/Complaints Officer, Chief Executive's Department, NHS Shetland

Dear I am Trouble

We’re glad to hear that your ankle is better but disappointed that you feel you had to travel to a private clinic in Aberdeen. We would like to use your experience to improve what we do in Shetland for the benefit of everyone who uses our services. Our Head of Physio offered to be in contact with you because it’s important for us to learn how we can do just that. We can see that you have shared your experiences before. Thanks for taking the time to do so.

Ralph Roberts, Chief Executive

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful