"Admitted to a and e for chest pain"

About: Northern General Hospital

Anything else?

Day care staff were fab, although I don't think it's professional seeing doctors drinking out of pop bottles. The doctor who attended to me couldn't be fault erred, I had extremely high blood pressure, pain in the arm and back, I had good pain relief and the male nurse that administered it was fantastic his name was dale.

It was decided after my tests to admit me to a cardiac ward as I suffer from mitral regurgitation, I was still in a and e and was told by the doctors I was going to firth 7.

I was still on a and e at 11pm two doctors came on shift and examined me and discharged me, I was waiting for pain drugs till midnight!

I can't understand why I was discharged as I was in pain and it was midnight after been told I was going to a cardiac ward.....pathetic!

The areas were dirty bloody cotton wool all over , I wasn't asked if I wanted a drink! And I saw old people laid on trolleys for hours not toileted or offered drinks! But the drunk in e18 did! Maybe coz he was effin and blinding. Your hospital is a sham and I will take to the papers, very disgusted patient . Lianne Minshall admitted 21 feb 2013 at 2pm discharged at 12.00am 22feb 2013 without a drink!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Ms Minshall

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay in A&E. I'm sorry you were not happy with the care you received.

If you would like us to process this as a formal complaint please do contact our Patient Services Team on 0114 271 2400 or PST@sth.nhs.uk with further details and we will investigate further.

Response from Northern General Hospital

Dear Ms Minshall

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay in A&E. I'm sorry you were not happy with the care you received.

If you would like us to process this as a formal complaint please do contact our Patient Services Team on 0114 271 2400 or PST@sth.nhs.uk with further details and we will investigate further.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful