"Diabolically atrocious!"

About: Leicester Royal Infirmary

Anything else?

Right wer to start!? Well I went to out of hours with an appointment at 3am in alot of abdominal pain, extreme diareah and looking alot of blood from my bowls. Had to wait an hour in agonising pain and actually saw the nurses and doctors having what looks like a tea party for 20 mins even though they wer running 1hr late already. I was counting the minutes and crying in pain! I was then directed to a+e. I sat waiting to be admired for 2 hours! Once I got in to have my bloods taken the nurse sat me in a filthy room and was chatting with her friends for 20mins while preparing the needle! I have a phobia of needles and this is the worst thing she could have done! I was in such a state and delicate position I just broke down. I was then asked to find a seat and a doc will come find me. I got seen by a doc by 7.30 for him to tell me ther isn't a bed availible so I have to stay sitting until one is free. I then had 1 nurse ask me if I'd been to the loo in a + e cus I have diareah I could infect the whole place. 8 people asked for a urine sample! After sending all but the first away only 1 asked for a stool sample. The nurse then carried around my stool sample for at least 10mins and I was horrified everyone was seeing my sample. I was directed to a small room in a+e where ther was a chair in the corner and dryed blood drips on the floor, I requested a cot and one did arrive swiftly by 9am, I then took some time to notice the others in a+e and they wer all on drugs! Or drunk laying in ther own puke! Some exceptions. I herd the staff mention how busy it was then stood there chatting for 20mins! I finally got a drip and a doc see to me and try to figure out what the prob was. I mention I was in a car crash and they are all more interested in my meal the night before. I had 2 drips and nipped to the loo inbetween then needed the loo just before my last drip had finished I requested to be unhooked so I could go and a nurse said yes then walked away, it took me 20mins to get someone's attention after that and was ready to cry I was so uncomfortable and in pain. I was sent home by 12 to wait for my test results as a bed wouldn't have been availible for days. My tests wer lost so never got the outcome, went on for 3 weeks and my doctor eventually confirmed it was seatbelt damage! I should have been sent for ct scan from the start. My time their was terrifying and infuriating, I will never go back!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Leicester Royal Infirmary

We're really sorry to read your comments as it's clear to see that you didn't have a very good experience at A&E on this occasion. As you have not given me any particular names or dates, I would find it difficult to follow this further up for you, but we do take all patient's issues with their care very seriously so I would recommend that you get in touch with the Patient Information and Liaison Service (PILS) team if you would like this to be followed up. They can be contacted on freephone 08081 788337 or by visiting http://www.leicestershospitals.nhs.uk/patients/patient-welfare/patient-information-and-liaison-service/

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful