"Not a good experience"

About: Royal Bolton Hospital

Anything else?

My daughter has been in 2 /3 times in the past few months for gallbladder problems.

The wards are so short of trained nurses, the care is shockingly lacking.

On one occasion she was violently sick, covering herself and the bed.

I called a nurse who came and threw the bedding on the floor before cleaning my daughter up.

I got a clean nightie out and asked the nurse to help change her, as she had drips in her arms etc, so it needed a nurse to disconnect everything to enable the nightie to be put on.

We were told "sorry but there are more pressing patents I need to deal with, there are only 2 of us on, I will do it as soon as I can"

My daughter was left in clothes covered in sick whilst the nurse went to attend to another patient.

I admit the nurse may have had more pressing issues to deal with, but in my mind that is basic nursing care.

The moral on the wards was terrible, they were worried about the new terms and conditions that are supposidly coming in and the whole episode was a nightmare.

I have always championed the nhs, but I have seen the other side of the service and I am worried for the future.

The doctor who treated her did a good job and we have no complaints in that respect.

Patients deserve to be treated with dignity and respect ( as do staff) and we need to get back to basic Heath care, with enough staff to do the job they were trained to do.

The royal bolton needs to have a Good look at itself, the people of bolton deserve better.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bolton Hospital

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention however, I am sure you appreciate that due to patient confidentiality we cannot comment further on any individual specific concerns on this website. We would encourage you to contact the Patient Advocacy Liaison Service (PALS) on 01204 390193 who will be happy to assist you and advise you on how we can look into this further.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful