"Delay in getting help from Stonebridge centre "

About: Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust / Adult mental health (inpatient)

(as the patient),

I rang on a Friday a few weeks ago to speak to my cpn Sarah. I was very upset and struggling not to self harm. I was told by the receptionist that Sarah was not in on that day so I said that I needed to speak to someone and was told that Sarah was not available until Monday so I would have to wait till then.

This did not help my frame of mind at all and I did go on to self harm that day as I felt let down that there was not someone that I could have talked things through with.

When Sarah next visited me I told her about this and she said that it should not have happened, that I should have been put through for the duty team when they came on at 1pm.

I know that Sarah has spoken to her line manager and they have said that I can put in a complaint.

When you phone for help in difficult times you do not expect to be told you have to wait 3 days to be able to speak to someone.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Tracey Taylor, Service Manager, Community and Residential Services (South), Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Hello Hector

I am sorry that you did not get the help you needed at the time when you called.

I understand you have had talked this through with your CPN Sarah and that Sarah has made it clear in your notes and with reception and duty staff that you do need to speak to someone if Sarah is not at work. I have discussed this situation with the reception staff to ensure this does not happen again.

I am happy to meet with you if you would like to discuss this further. if you would like to do this please let Sarah know, or you can contact me at Stonebridge.

Thank you for bringing this to my attention

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story