"New to area"

About: Tameside General Hospital

Anything else?

New to the area, and felt the hospital could feel more welcoming! A+E reception was looking a bit untidy and was very cold. First Impressions are not good!!!

Visiting wife on Medical Assessment ward, and needed to wear apron and gloves, as the area my wife is in has noro virus and mrsa!! I am not impressed!!

Just had her call crying her eyes out becuase of the lumber puncture she has had a banging headache and the lights and noise is making her feel worse!! surely the staff can see the stress? she has asked doctor if she can come home for 24 hours!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from John Goodenough, Director of Nursing, Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

We are really sorry to hear of your wife’s recent experience at Tameside Hospital, and I would like you to know that first impressions are very important to us. I would also like to categorically assure you that we have not had an outbreak of MRSA, indeed Tameside Hospital hasn’t had an outbreak of MRSA for a number of years. However we do currently have other patients who have the Norovirus on the Medical Assessment Unit. This is similar to other organisations across the country and I would like to assure you that we are continually working to minimise the impact of this through the provision of good infection control processes

Again I would like to thank you for raising these issues and providing us with your feedback. If you have any further concerns I would be grateful if you could contact the Complaints department on 0161 922 6025.

John Goodenough

Director of Nursing

Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at

john.goodenough@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Tameside General Hospital

We are really sorry to hear of your wife’s recent experience at Tameside Hospital, and I would like you to know that first impressions are very important to us. I would also like to categorically assure you that we have not had an outbreak of MRSA, indeed Tameside Hospital hasn’t had an outbreak of MRSA for a number of years. However we do currently have other patients who have the Norovirus on the Medical Assessment Unit. This is similar to other organisations across the country and I would like to assure you that we are continually working to minimise the impact of this through the provision of good infection control processes Again I would like to thank you for raising these issues and providing us with your feedback. If you have any further concerns I would be grateful if you could contact the Complaints department on 0161 922 6025. John Goodenough Director of Nursing Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved? Please contact John Goodenough, Director of Nursing at john.goodenough@tgh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story