"Harrogate Hospital, worst patient care I've known."

About: Harrogate District Hospital

Anything else?

I went into Harrogate Hospital to have an umbilical hernia repair, firstly I had trouble getting someone on standby to pick me up after my op, as I live about 10 minutes from the hospital the booklet said I would be able to use hospital transport to get home, when I politely asked the ward nurse about hospital transport she told me that the transport was only for the elderly and how dare I ask her that question, was I wanting to take a seat from an elderly person, who did I think I was, didn't I have any family or friends nearby, she then went on and told me to find someone on the internet if I didn't have anyone. I explained my parents lived 120 miles away and that they were elderly! After that I asked if I could go home by taxi, again she 'tore a strip off me' saying no, if you are sick in the taxi we will have to pick up the bill, which wasn't true, it ended with me in tears. On the day of my op, the surgeon who I had seen, and his last words to me were, see you in the operating theater, wasn't even going to carry out my operation, a Polish surgeon call into my room and said 'I will be operating on you today in about one hour,' I said. but you don't know my case. I have never seen you before, you don't know how the other surgeon had agreed to do the op, 'no I don't he admitted,' but it was the Polish surgeon who carried out my op and I was given 50 minutes after returning from the operating theater to the ward to get up and walk out of the hospital, and trust me when I say hernia repairs are very painful, I was not given any dressing for my wound, I have now been told, two and a half month later, that I should have been fitted with a support so the hernia repair wouldn't burst and return, nothing was offered and guess what, the hernia repair has split open again and I'm furious! The lack of care was beyond words, I wouldn't send my dog to Harrogate hospital. If you need a good surgeon, polite staff and a good result, go to LEEDS LGI or St JAMES, that's where all the good surgeons are and the staff are just fantastic!

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Harrogate District Hospital

Thank you for your feedback, which we greatly value.

I am very sorry that you had such a bad experience and please be assured that we always strive for the highest possible standards of care for all of our patients. When we fail to provide this, as in your case, we are keen to find out exactly what went wrong and learn any lessons in order to ensure that the same thing does not happen again.

If you would like us to investigate your experience further, or to register a formal complaint, please contact our Patient Experience Team, either in writing at Harrogate District Hospital, Lancaster Park Road, Harrogate HG2 7SX, telephone 01423 555499 or email thepatientexperienceteam@hdft.nhs.uk

I apologise again for the fact that you had such a bad experience with us.

Chris Watt

Head of Communications

Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful