"Rude staff and total lack of care or respect"

About: Derriford Hospital

Anything else?

I went into A&E as I was advised to do so by the out of hours practice to see a doctor about a bout of shingles that I have picked up. I found the triage nurse to be very rude and she frankly offended me with regards to her lack of diligence or care. She made it very clear that I was wasting her time and I should of went to see a GP. I tried to explain that both my GP and the out of hours practice were unable to offer me a appointment to see a doctor but she was in no way interested in what I had had to say and basisly called me a fool for coming in to the department. I totally understand that my condition was not a medical emergency and I did then at the point of speaking to this nurse said I was more than happy to go away and wait for a appointment to see my GP.

I understand that the A&E department is a extremely busy and a stressful environment but I think that I could of been dealt with like I was some time wasting idiot and a actual human. I must stress that I was very polite towards this nurse and was compleatly respectful and polite.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Mary Anderson, Senior Quality Facilitator, Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Thank you very much for your feedback and I am sorry to read that you had a negative experience when you attended the Emergency Department. Your comments were forwarded to the ED Team for comment and at the outset, they have asked me to convey sincere apologies to you for your experience and hope that you have now been able to see your GP regarding your bout of shingles.

The Emergency Department is indeed a very busy place. For triage to be efficient and to ensure the highest priority is afforded to patients with true emergencies, triage nurses not infrequently have to advise patients that they have accessed the inappropriate place of care. This is never an easy task, as we recognise even chronic or non-emergency illness can be very stressful for patients despite not being an emergency.

However, we acknowledge it is important that all patients attending the Emergency Department are treated with dignity and respect and we are sorry this was not your experience.

Kind regards

Mary

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful