"Consultant in children's outpatients was fantastic, but a long wait and a mystery waiting list"

About: Royal Shrewsbury Hospital / Paediatrics Telford referral and quality service (TRAQS)

(as a parent/guardian),

The consultant was fantastic in children's outpatients as was the x-ray team but we found the wait completely unacceptable. We were seen 25 minutes after our appointment time & that was only because I queried the wait & the person on reception realised we had been forgotten.

We then had to wait a further 30 minutes for an x-ray. In both instances, people who arrived after us were seen first with no explanation. Why not have a ticket system that is clear to everyone?

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Patient Services Officer, Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital NHS Trust

Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your care and treatment at The Shrewsbury and Telford Hospital.

Your kind comments have been sent to the Clinical Manager for the Paediatric Services, this will then be shared with staff involved.

Our aim is to provide the highest standards of care for every patient, every time, and we are very sorry to hear your concerns about the care you received. Your comments have been sent to the Clinical Manager for the department concerned.

Unfortunately the Patient Opinion website does not share your contact details with the Trust, so we would encourage you to contact us so that we can look into the issues that you have raised in more detail.

The easiest way to do this is by calling our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01743 261691 or visiting their office near the Ward Block Entrance.

They aim to: provide advice and support to patients, their families and carers; listen to your concerns, suggestions or queries; and, help sort out problems quickly on your behalf. If you wish to make a formal complaint then the PALS service will be able to provide you with more information about how to do this. You can also find out more on the Trust website at www.sath.nhs.uk/patient_information/complaints.asp.

Thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to provide feedback via the Patient Opinion website. We look forward to hearing from you so that we can look into the issues you have raised in more detail.

Response from Helen Handy, TRAQS & CAB Co-Ordinator, Telford and Wrekin CCG

Thank you for taking the time to provide TRAQS with feedback regarding your recent referral.

I am sorry that you experienced problems with the waiting time for the actual appointment once you had arrived in the clinic. I note that the Shrewsbury and Telford Hospitals have responded to you in regard to the issues you have raised and trust that the hospital will be able to deal with the issues you have raised to your satisfaction.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful