"Poor"

About: Lincoln County Hospital

What I liked

Nothing

What could be improved

I waited more than one hour after my appointment time. I was given no appologies for having to wait. The only explanation for not being seen for so long came when I took it upon myself to ask the reception staff why I was still waiting after so long. After some confusion I was told quite curtly that the consultant was still seeing his 3.30 patient (at 5pm!). When I finally saw the consultant he tried his best to rush through my consultation giving me no opportunity to ask questions about my condition. He offered me a hearing test for that day but I couldn't have one because tthat department had already closed.

I have just received an appointment for 15 th April 2013 which will be nearly a year from my first visit and still no further forward, I find this totally unacceptable and would like my April appointment transferring to a different Hospital as I dont think Lincoln accept the problems i am having.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Jennie Negus, Deputy Director of Patient Services, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

picture of Jennie Negus

Dear Mr. Shaw - I am very sorry you had such a difficult time with your recent appointment and can fully appreciate your anger and frustration.

I am speaking with staff to understand what happened here and will come back to you as soon as I can.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Jennie Negus, Deputy Director of Patient Services, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

picture of Jennie Negus

Dear Mr Shaw - I have now had a report back from the Patient Services Manager responsible for the ENT department and she has asked me to post this response:

Dear Mr. Shaw

Thank you for your feedback on the use of our service. I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the experience you had in our ENT Clinic. I have discussed this with the senior outpatients Sister and expressed my concerns. Your experience has been shared with the clinic staff and they are aware that what you describe is unacceptable and would like to also offer their apologies. Whilst we do all we can to try to ensure clinics run on time there are occasion due to urgent patient need that services do run late. However this should be communicated to all patients in an acceptable way, I would not expect you to have to approach the reception for the information as it should be readily available for all patients to see. There is a whiteboard behind the reception desk that should be updated with any delays and I have asked that this should occur on every clinic moving forward, I have also asked the junior Sisters in the ENT clinic to make sure they personally communicate regularly with any patients that will be delayed. I apologise that when you did approach the reception the staff member was curt as this is totally unacceptable and all reception staff have been reminded that unacceptable attitude towards patient will be dealt with formally if needed. The Business Manager for ENT who works closely with the consultants is aware of the issues you have about feeling rushed and will speak to the consultant about this. I note you have concerns about returning to Lincoln ENT for review which I can appreciate after your experience; however we are attempting to bring your appointment forward if you should wish to accept that. I know you have been contacted with an option to attend an earlier appointment in February rather than 15th April – I hope this earlier appointment is acceptable to you.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback; I hope you can see that we really appreciate hearing about patients experiences in our care, that we do listen and try to learn from where we havent done as well as we could or should have done.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Lincoln County Hospital

Dear Mr. Shaw - I am very sorry you had such a difficult time with your recent appointment and can fully appreciate your anger and frustration. I spoke with staff and they asked me to write the following: hank you for your feedback on the use of our service. I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the experience you had in our ENT Clinic. I have discussed this with the senior outpatients Sister and expressed my concerns. Your experience has been shared with the clinic staff and they are aware that what you describe is unacceptable and would like to also offer their apologies. Whilst we do all we can to try to ensure clinics run on time there are occasion due to urgent patient need that services do run late. However this should be communicated to all patients in an acceptable way, I would not expect you to have to approach the reception for the information as it should be readily available for all patients to see. There is a whiteboard behind the reception desk that should be updated with any delays and I have asked that this should occur on every clinic moving forward, I have also asked the junior Sisters in the ENT clinic to make sure they personally communicate regularly with any patients that will be delayed. I apologise that when you did approach the reception the staff member was curt as this is totally unacceptable and all reception staff have been reminded that unacceptable attitude towards patient will be dealt with formally if needed. The Business Manager for ENT who works closely with the consultants is aware of the issues you have about feeling rushed and will speak to the consultant about this. I note you have concerns about returning to Lincoln ENT for review which I can appreciate after your experience; however we are attempting to bring your appointment forward if you should wish to accept that. I know you have been contacted with an option to attend an earlier appointment in February rather than 15th April – I hope this earlier appointment is acceptable to you.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback; I hope you can see that we really appreciate hearing about patients experiences in our care, that we do listen and try to learn from where we haven't done as well as we could or should have done.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful