"Rushed, unfriendly, poor judgements made, and..."

About: William Harvey Hospital

What I liked

Son taken to WHH following sporting injury and was seen by a nurse who appeared terse, rushed and a little sarcastic about time taken in general on sporting injuries. Nurse reviewed x-rays on son's very swollen and bruised foot, told him he had soft tissue damage only, insisted he stand on his foot despite his protestations he couldn't weightbear and sent him home with no painkillers, walking aids, but a leaflet on sprains. 3 days later, hospital phoned us to say son had a fractured ankle after all, which is what we felt all along and he is now in cast. First visit was awful, 4 hours wait for that service. Second visit, staff lovely but of course they then knew there was a problem. Not the first time we have received misdiagnosis at this hospital and in the 12 years we have used this hospital, service and support has definitely got worse. Very disappoointing. Complained via Patients Experience Team but, despite automated acknowledgement email received stating they would contact us within 3 days, we have heard nothing. Am completing this form as hoping this is another way for someone to note our complaint and respond to it.

What could be improved

Initial visit was rushed, nurse was unfriendly and unaccommodating. Xray showed fracture as we asked to see this on second visit and it was clear to us, and we are not health professionals. We suggest that, despite the fact staff are busy, things were missed and care was poor. Listening to patients and parents would be a start. My son insisted this injury felt much more than a sprain and he was right, but overtalked all the way through.

Anything else?

Yes, if you suggest complaints should be made via PET, please respond to them. Otherwise, it just makes the complainant feel worse.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Julie Pearce, Chief Nurse + Director of Quality + Operations, East Kent Hospitals University NHS Foundation Trust

I am really sorry to hear about your experiences at A&E and also that our Patient Experience Team failed to contact you. I would be very happy to arrange for to meet with staff so that they can listen to your concerns. Please do email me on Julie.pearce1@nhs.net if you would like me to follow this up for you. I hope your son is recovering well.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from William Harvey Hospital

We are so sorry to hear of your experience and would like to discuss the problems you have raised further if possible. We understand that you have also experienced problems with the patient experience team and they are fully aware of this. If we could ask if you could email them direct at ekh-tr.patientexperience@nhs.net and mark it for the attention of a senior manager - the staff have been made aware to escalate this immediately. Your feedback will be logged onto our database that records all concerns and complaints and the managers of the area where you son was treated will be made aware of his experience.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful