"Rubbish - staff treat terminally ill people with..."

About: Lincoln County Hospital

What I liked

i am at a loss about what to do...The level of care given to my dad by Lincoln hospital was apauling for several reasons I am so so angry about some of the things that went on....some people have mentioned making a claim.....money will not help, no money will ever bring him back taking money from the nhs wont help anybody. i am not saying he would still be here or lived any longer but the care should have been alot better they knew he was dieing and ignored him, left him sat on a commode freezing cold for over an hour! and alot of other things aswell too upsetting to mention. i am not one to moan and when i had my babies the staff were fantastic but it really isnt ok to ignore a dieing man that just wants a drink. He was so happy when he got into st barnabas hospice the care he got there was outstanding.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Lincoln County Hospital

I was so sorry to read your posting; and particularly as you have written it so long after your father died which clearly shows how hard this has been for you. I am extremely sorry that at a time when you and your father were most vulnerable we let you down; the care, or lack of care you have described is absolutely not the standard we expect and I would like to offer our sincere apologies. Clearly I cannot change what happened and after such a period of time cannot track back to focus on individuals in terms of practice but please be assured that you story has not gone unheard. Across ULHT we have been undertaking a great deal of work with end of life care and I know the staff will be very disappointed to read about your experience. Thank you for leaving your feedback; I know you have not done so lightly.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Jennie Negus, Deputy Director of Patient Services, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

picture of Jennie Negus

I was so sorry to read your posting; and particularly as you have written it so long after your father died which clearly shows how hard this has been for you. I am extremely sorry that at a time when you and your father were most vulnerable we let you down; the care, or lack of care you have described is absolutely not the standard we expect and I would like to offer our sincere apologies. Clearly I cannot change what happened and after such a period of time cannot track back to focus on individuals in terms of practice but please be assured that you story has not gone unheard. Across ULHT we have been undertaking a great deal of work with end of life care and I know the staff will be very disappointed to read about your experience. Thank you for leaving your feedback; I know you have not done so lightly.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful