"Husband in Darent Valley after operation"

About: Darent Valley Hospital / General surgery

(as a relative),

My husband has had a terrible time in here. He waited 2 hours to have a bell answered. He got his morning cup of tea at 11 am. The floors are dirty. They lost his file, when they found it, it says his pain has been under control. They have not asked him so how do they know?

The food is terrible. Yesterday after he was dizzy, I went to find a nurse. He had not had his blood pressure checked and when they did, it was so low they asked him to get back into bed but did not try to help him. If this is how the NHS is now, then I think we should all buy private insurance and not pay NI.

I just want to get him home so we can care for him. In my opinion, this is something the nursing staff seem to have forgotten exists.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Darent Valley Hospital

We were very sorry to read that your husband did not have a good experience at Darent Valley Hospital. We sincerely apologise and would like to investigate this matter further. Please can you contact us on the details below: Communication Department Darent Valley Hospital Darenth Wood Road Dartford Kent DA2 8DA sue.daniels@dvh.nhs.uk 01322 428655

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust

Darent Valley Hospital replied via NHS Choices on 07 March 2013

We were very sorry to read that your husband did not have a good experience at Darent Valley Hospital. We sincerely apologise and would like to investigate this matter further. Please can you contact us on the details below:

Communication Department

Darent Valley Hospital

Darenth Wood Road

Dartford

Kent DA2 8DA

sue.daniels@dvh.nhs.uk

01322 428655

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful