"Problem with collection of orthotics insoles"

About: East Surrey Hospital / Orthotics

(as the patient),

I had a card from Orthotics to tell me some insoles were ready for collection. It came from the Orthotics department and said "please call monday to friday 9-17.00 pm". I called in yesterday to collect them and asked at the nearby reception desk where I could collect them. The receptionist there said they had no idea! I was told that the secretary in orthotics had not been there that day. I asked when the secretary would be there and was told they had no idea! She seemed to have no intention of helping, even though I showed her the card with the times on it.

I stopped at main reception and asked the same question and they had the insoles there. Is it not possible for the first reception to be a little bit more helpful? Had I been older and perhaps not in full health I would have gone all the way home and come back again, hoping someone would be there to help.

If the reception are not prepared to help, then why are they there? I just could not believe how unhelpful this receptionist was. By the way I have no complaint with the Orthotic's people I dealt with.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Liz Hobby, Communications Manager, First Community Health & Care CIC

Hi fedup2,

I am sorry to hear of the difficulties you have experienced when trying to collect your orthotics recently. I am really pleased that you are satisfied with the orthotics service you received, however, I am keen to understand the confusion that occurred when speaking to reception.

I would be happy to investigate this further but require clarification from you. You can contact me on 01737 775462 or email fchcenquiries@firstcommunitysurrey-cic.nhs.uk to discuss.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Liz Hobby, Communications Manager, First Community Health & Care CIC

Hi Fedup2,

Thank you for getting in contact with us about your comments. It was lovely to speak to you and good to define that the hospital was in fact Horsham, not East Surrey. I have forwarded on your comments to Horsham Hospital, where the Orthotics service is provided by NHS West Sussex. I do hope that your comments get heard and that this isssue can be clarified for future patients.

All the best,

First Community Health & Care

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful