About: Croydon University Hospital

What could be improved

To be given a seat, I spent the majority of my time in A&E standing up and was in severe pain.

Hygiene, There was dried blood on the floor, Dirty tissues, wrappers e.c.t.

Patient’s privacy. This elderly lady was being looked at in a room she was shouting. The nurse walked out of the room with the door left open and the elderly lady was standing at the door stark naked shouting. It took the nurse's over a minute to go and close the door many were just looking and carrying on with what they were doing. I and the other patient's men aswell were shocked.

I was sent home with nothing, even though the Dr said I had an infection but is not going to give me antibiotics but a letter to give to my Dr instead. This led to me being seriously ill the next day and the infection spreading.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Croydon University Hospital

We are really sorry to learn of your poor experience.

The Trust, which manages A&E, and our partner organisation, which runs the Urgent Care Service at the hospital, want to provide the best service possible.

As we can’t tell from your comments here which service you were using, we have passed them on to both the teams.

It would help if you could contact us directly with more details, so we can make sure the right people are informed.

Please can you call the Patient Advice and Liaison team (PALs) on 020 8401 3210 or email TalkToUs@croydonhealth.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful