"when at the Hospital in person excellent ! But ..."

About: Hythe Hospital

What I liked

I attended for a routine blood test on 5th November,, and was treated very promptly, indeed a few minutes before the appointment time, by very courteous polite, and informative staff. Excellent person to person contact and very refreshing !

But since then ( 4 days ago ) I have been trying by telephone to make a further appointment. This has proved impossible and I have phoned 13 times. Initially I telephoned 02380 846046 nine times, each time listening to the recorded option - none of which seem to apply to making an appointment for Blood Tests, so I selected the best option in the hope that I would be connected to a human. Music was then played, and after about 4 minutes the call was disconnected. This happened nine times over two days. I did eventually get through to a person, not at Hythe Hospital however, who after my explanation, gave me a new number - 02380 845955. My hopes raised as I dialled this new number, only to be dashed as I was connected to the same automatic options and then to the music which again cut off after 4 minutes. I tried another three times, each with exactly the same outcome and I have still to directly speak to some one on the telephone. Looking at other comments complaining about extremely poor telephone contact and coupled with my experiences there is without doubt a major problem at Hythe Hospital in communications. I reiterate however that once there, the staff are very, very good. I suppose I will now have to drive there to make my appointment - so much for helping the environment..........

What could be improved

Get a dedicated person to answer the telephone,

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Hythe Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your experience at Hythe Hospital and your subsequent attempts to contact the hospital. I am very sorry that you have experienced such difficulty in getting through to book a blood test appointment. I will liaise with the Administration Lead for the hospital to determine the cause of this problem, however please feel free to contact me directly should you encounter this problem again on 01590 663089.

Kind regards

Ben Prior

Complaints and PALS Officer

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful