"very bad,poor"

About: The Great Western Hospital

What I liked

It is with much regret and pain , we write this letter on Sufferings experienced by us due to Improper and Unacceptable services of NHS. Following cases are cited here as evidences for our Sufferings.

On 29-06-2012,Our Daughter aged 5 years met with an accident in Her School. Due to this ,Her spectacles got broken to pieces and She suffered from Injuries by cutting of Eye brow and met the GP at home ground surgery and explained things happened in past and now where opticians and hospitals are not taking our matter seriously. Meanwhile she was due for her Opthomologist review appointment ,when We requested for Appointment with Ophthalmology Department,We have been communicated (vide Great Western Hospitals, Marlborough Road, Swindon that appointment is offered on 21-08-2012 at 10:15 AM at Hospital No.001331532 and conveyed to us through letter dated 5th.July 2012.

Hence We waited till 20-08-2012 and took leave for our work on 21-08-2012 to take our Child to Hospital. Surprisingly on the date of appointment around 08:40 AM, when we were on our way to Hospital, phone call came from Great Western hospital informing that the appointment has been cancelled as the concerned person will not be present on 21-08-2012 to attend to Patients. Due to this delayed information by the Hospital, we had to loose One day pay(since we both are working parents)

To add to above and our sufferings, We had received a letter from Hospital stating the following:

‘’Thanks for contacting us to cancel the appointment for 21st.August 2012 at 10.15.The following appointment has been booked for yout daughter on 07-09-2012 at 2.15 PM.’’

After intimating by Phone in the last minute regarding cancellation of appointment by Hospital, now we have received letter twisting the fact as if we had cancelled the appointment on 21-08-2012.

What could be improved

After intimating by Phone in the last minute regarding cancellation of appointment by Hospital, now we have received letter twisting the fact as if we had cancelled the appointment on 21-08-2012.

For getting the appointment even for child, We had to wait for months together, but information from Hospital for cancellation of appointment given to us on the date of appointment leading to loss of salary and above all ,we are being blamed for the cancellation by Great Western hospital. Hope you have understood our sufferings and would kindly look in to this matter and we need urgent action to be taken and avoid any future cancellation by Doctors.

Anything else?

Really frustrating with the service.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from The Great Western Hospital

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Ophthalmology department at Great Western Hospital. We would like to apologise for the sudden cancellation of your daughter’s appointment. Unfortunately, the Ophthalmalogist your daughter was due to see on that day had been called away at short notice due to unforseen circumstances and was unable to see all the patients booked into the clinic. We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. We would also like to apologise for sending you the incorrect letter that stated you had cancelled the appointment when in fact it was the hospital that had made this cancellation. This was due to a human error. We take all feedback very seriously and have shared your comments with the Ophthalmology team to learn from your experiences. We would be happy to discuss the issues in more detail if you would find it helpful, please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01793 604031 or email PALS.Team@gwh.nhs.uk

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful