"terrible"

About: Bassetlaw Hospital

What I liked

i would like to say that the system at bassetlaw hospital was disgusting , my son broke his collar bone playing football and was kept waiting between 5-6 hours before being told they were sending us home and told to attend a fracture clinic 3 days later, to think that after we first got there the staff were fantastic(reception-triage-x-ray) up to the point where we was told to wait to see a doctor,then the system kicks in , 4 hours later we get seen by 1 of the 2 doctors on shift, then had to wait for the only bone doctor just to be told to come back to the clinic, my son was in serious pain and the original pain killers supplied by triage wore of after 2 hours, not suprisingly i was very upset at this and will be seeking advice on the legal side to see if there can be any changes made to the system bassetlaw hospital runs by,

What could be improved

Hire more staff to deal with patients.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Doncaster and Bassetlaw Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

We would like to apologise for that fact that you were in A&E for five to six hours. We aim to see and treat all patients within four hours of arrival at A&E. Unfortunately, sometimes we are not able to do this – for example because we need to get a specialist opinion on a patient from a senior doctor in another part of the hospital, we need longer to assess whether or not a patient needs to be admitted or simply because of the extremely large volume of patients arriving at A&E. We recognise that this is probably little comfort when you have been in A&E more than four hours, though.

We have forwarded your comments to the A&E team and thank you for your feedback.

Response from Bassetlaw Hospital

We would like to apologise for that fact that you were in A&E for five to six hours. We aim to see and treat all patients within four hours of arrival at A&E. Unfortunately, sometimes we are not able to do this – for example because we need to get a specialist opinion on a patient from a senior doctor in another part of the hospital, we need longer to assess whether or not a patient needs to be admitted or simply because of the extremely large volume of patients arriving at A&E. We recognise that this is probably little comfort when you have been in A&E more than four hours, though.

We have forwarded your comments to the A&E team and thank you for your feedback.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful