"Night shift great, the rest, absolutely..."

About: Lincoln County Hospital

What I liked

Admitted early evening and the night staff were courteous and responsive. I felt I was looked after very well. However...

What could be improved

Day staff were rude and disorganised. More interested in the coming weekend than stale, used incontinence pads on the floor. (I have photo's)

I had to speak to two of the staff as they were talking over an elderly gentleman whose bed they were remaking. They told me they hadn't heard him trying to attract their attention but I pointed out I was across the other side of the ward and I heard him whilst they were standing next to him and apparently didn't.

I got breakfast a little later with the person in the next bed receiving butter and marmalade sufficient for his toast. I got 1 portion of each whereas he got three. It's a small, trivial point but was done, I believe, to let me know they didn't like being told off.

The toilet had uncleaned feces on the toilet seat, again pointed out by me, but was still there when I left.

Anything else?

This hospital, like so many others, runs on fiefdoms. The contrast between different shifts of staff is utterly disgraceful with bickering and unpleasantness obvious to all at times of shift handover and during rounds.

I am familiar with the friendly banter between colleagues but the constant criticism of Dr's by nursing staff was unnecessary, demeaning and unprofessional.

The mood of the patients on the medical admissions ward visibly fell as the day shift came on and I for one don't want people like that to be earning up to £30k a year for the appalling service they give.

If Lincoln Hospital were a company it would go under in a mater of weeks. Quite horrible to think that many of us will have to work to retirement age, and possibly beyond, and have this shambles to look forward to in our failing years.

There may be some 'Angels' in there somewhere but they're not in charge.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Jennie Negus, Deputy Director of Patient Services, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

picture of Jennie Negus

I would like to start with my sincere apologies for what has clearly been a very poor experience for you; the standards you have described fall well below those we expect in any of our hospitals. These standards include expectations about cleanliness and staff behaviour and I am concerned about what you have reported. Whilst I share all Patient Opinion postings with the hospital so that we can all appreciate and learn from both good and poor experiences it would be helpful for us to have a little more detail about your time with us so we can address specific issues you have highlighted. If you are willing to do so perhaps you could contact me via: patient.involvement@ulh.nhs.uk?

Please once again accept my apologies and my assurance that your story is being listened to and shared.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Response from Lincoln County Hospital

I would like to start with my sincere apologies for what has clearly been a very poor experience for you; the standards you have described fall well below those we expect in any of our hospitals. These standards include expectations about cleanliness and staff behaviour and I am concerned about what you have reported. Whilst I share all NHS Choices postings with the hospital so that we can all appreciate and learn from both good and poor experiences it would be helpful for us to have a little more detail about your time with us so we can address specific issues you have highlighted. If you are willing to do so perhaps you could contact me via: patient.involvement@ulh.nhs.uk?

Please once again accept my apologies and my assurance that your story is being listened to and shared.

Jennie Negus. Deputy Director of Patient Services

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful