"On a score of 1-100, coming in at 80 for ability,..."

About: Salford Royal

What I liked

The friendly polite, cordial, professional attitude of the Specialist Nurses, the Health care assistants in the outpatients and on the phone.

The cleanliness of the new dept. is being maintained and not allowed to slide unlike other recent build outs.

What could be improved

The Endocrine team of Consultant, Regristrar, and Receptionist at outpatients.

Please the above named people remember your people facing and people have emotions and feelings too, don't just point to your rights in posters, remember the patient and their state of anxiety about his upcoming and long awaited appt. please.

Secondly, please can you stop sending me out an appt. this week for an appt. in six weeks time, then in two weeks I get a cancellation, and on the same day receive another appt. for exactly six weeks after the first cancellation. This lovely little process exists for what purpose? You repeat it so many times I am now on my fourth round of cancellation and rebooking of the same appt.

Are you going to get financially penalised unless you get me an appt. in six weeks, so you make me one knowing you cannot possibly keep it and then rebook it? Is this the way to meet or exceed some sort of target or team led goal?

Also if your going to send me for all day tests and stick needles in my arms, can you at least properly fill out the forms and have documentation of procedures for the MIU rather than the patient having to inform MIU of what the process's are?

Please people start working as a team instead of complaining at one another of "difficult people" maybe just maybe, if you did this and were a little more polite, professional, and approachable your load of "difficult people" would decrease.

Now this is my health not my care, guess how much I care about that?

Anything else?

Could be great dept. if there was a greater level of teamwork.

Medically I have great difficulty making the leap of faith to trust in their abilities and entrust my medical care to them.

Until you get your teamwork and egos in order any MDT projects are a disaster in the making as I can plainly attest to.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Salford Royal

Thank you for your feed back. I am sorry that there are a number of issues you have with your care here and would like to explore these further. We would appreciate it if you could contact our PALS team (pals@srft.nhs.uk) who can advise and assist with resolving the problems you have highlighted.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful