"Ward staff wonderful but A&E awful"

About: Royal Free Hospital

What I liked

Some of the nursing staff were very good and worked well together. The cleaning staff were brilliant. The staff that helped with washing and showering us was brilliant.

What could be improved

The administrators on the ward were not good. When I was discharged the second time I was waiting for my medication and I had a problem because a cab was picking me up - I was alone and was calling a cab company from home. The nurses couldn't tell me when my medication woul be ready - the pharmacy couldn't help with a time. I packed and was waiting with my bags. An administrator shouted down the corridor to a nurse " oh she can go to the departure longe - she will have to wait there tell her to go" the nurses were all busy - It was ok for me to wait on the ward whilst waiting for medication but as soon as it suited your administrator I had to leave - having had brain surgery I had to carry bags down stairs - I wasn't offered any assistance and the administrator was very rude.

Shame the admin staff couldn't be pleasant.

Anything else?

I found the lack of visiting rule enforcement very bad. Some nurses were very good at insisting 2 visitors but other nursing staff allowed prayer meetings at the bed side with 12 visitors and children running around - when I complained a nurse said "what do you expect me to do. The visiting issue was really bad. Two visitors a patient should have been enforced to all not just those good enough to comply.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Free Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are sorry that you were unhappy with the way that you were discharged from the hospital and that you felt the visiting rule was not enforced consistently. If you would like to discuss these issues in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service who would be happy to assist you with this. Contact details here: http://tinyurl.com/87ln6pa

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful