About: William Harvey Hospital

What I liked

I recently had to visit an Antenatal clinic at William Harvey Hospital. I am a first time mum and am understandable a bit nervous and apprehensive. The receptionist and midwives in the department where lovely and put me at ease, but unfortunately my experience with the consultant was very different.

I am slightly overweight which is why I have been referred, and the consultant’s attitude towards me was awful, they made me feel as though I was a drug addict or an alcoholic who was deliberately trying to harm my baby. They didn't once ask about my diet or exercise since being pregnant, which if they had taken some time to actually ask the questions they would have found out that I am being incredible careful with my diet and am regularly exercising and have put on very little excess weight. Not only did they make me feel awful but I was insulted when he told me to phone the nutrition team so I could be re-educated in eating properly and nutrition, I am a highly educated lady with a science degree and am well aware of healthy eating and nutrition etc.

Being pregnant is a scary and worrying time for any lady especially if it is your first time but making a mother feel as though she is trying to harm her child before it is even born is not the best treatment for either the mother or child.

Many Thanks.......

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from William Harvey Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to feedback both the postive and negative experiences you had whilst using our Maternity Services at The William Harvey hospital.

I would like to hear more about the concerns you have in regards to the consultant you saw and am sorry that you were made to feel they way you did. On the occasions when we don’t meet our normally high standards we try to learn from experiences so that we can improve the care for our future patients.

If you would like to talk to us regarding your concerns you can do so by contacting our Patient Experience Team either by telephone 01227 783145 or via email at PatientExperience@ekht.nhs.uk who will be happy to help you.

Patient Experience Team Manager

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful