"demoralising, depressing, upsetting, patronising"

About: Royal Free Hospital

What could be improved

Every time I visited as an outpatient I was kept waiting for at least an hour.

I was continually called by the wrong christian name, even though I corrected the staff on every visit

After my initial diagnosis, the consultant promised that he would improve all of my symptoms. When the initial drug treatment failed to improve any of my symptoms, I was treated as if I had failed and had to fight for any further treatment.

On every visit, I saw a different doctor and had to recount the whole history of my problem as they hadn't read my notes

When I became upset at the failure of my treatment, I was treated as a hysteric

Anything else?

The department I visited to treat the symptoms of my poly-cystic ovarian syndrome was only interested in treating women trying to get pregnant, rather than women trying to cope with weight problems, severe acne, irregular periods and hirsuiteness

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Royal Free Hospital

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the care you received when you visited the hospital in August 2010. If you would like to discuss the issues that you have raised here further, please contact out Patient Advice and Liaison Service; contact details here: http://tinyurl.com/87ln6pa

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful